Damien Deroubaix. La valise d'Orphée

Editions Lord Byron

Regular price €24,00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Christine Germain-Donnat (under the direction of), Damien Deroubaix . La valise d'Orphée , Paris, Éditions Lord Byron, 2021

1st edition
Edition of 300 copies
Hardcover, 22 x 28 cm, 64 pages
Bilingual edition: French, English
Translated from French by Ben Lenthall
ISBN: 978- 2-491901-11-0

Damien Deroubaix. La valise d'Orphée is the catalog published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition from June 15 to October 31, 2021 which inaugurates the reopening of the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature in Paris (FR). It includes a preface by Christine Germain-Donnat, the presentation of the "Valise d'Orphie by Joanna Chevalier, a statement by Damien Deroubaix collected by Annabelle Gugnon, as well as a tale by her hand.

Born in 1972 in Lille, France, Damien Deroubaix lives and works in Meisenthal and Paris. He graduated from the École des Beaux-Arts in Saint-Etienne and the Akademie der bildenden Künste in Karlsruhe. Since 2003, his work has been exhibited in the best European institutions and has been the subject of numerous solo shows, particularly in Switzerland and Germany.

The artistic practice of Damien Deroubaix is ​​marked by a great diversity of forms and techniques: oil painting, watercolor, engraving, tapestry, engraved wood panels, but also sculpture and installation. This formal variety responds to the most eclectic sources and references, often cohabiting in his works in a spirit that is reminiscent of the iconoclastic one of Dada montages. Motifs borrowed from medieval macabre dances mingle with evocations of tragic chapters of contemporary history; topical images rub shoulders with mythology and folklore; the history of art and the metal music scene collide there. Openly expressionist, his paintings often summon apocalyptic themes, and this is perhaps what makes them so timeless.

Exhibition curator and artistic advisor, Joanna Chevalier is also director of the Beirut Art Fair. Born in Lebanon and graduated in political science from the American University of Paris, she was artistic director at Ernst & amp; Young. She has organized exhibitions notably in France and Lebanon, such as at the Espace Culturel Louis Vuitton with Hervé Mikaeloff in 2010 or the production of installations during the “Nuit Blanche” in Paris in 2012.

Christine Germain-Donnat began her career in 1999 as a curator at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Lille, then at the Musée des Beaux-Arts and the Musée de la Céramique in Rouen. While directing the Grobet-Labadié museum, she was in charge of the steering of the museum of decorative arts and fashion project at the Château Borély in Marseille from 2008 to 2013, before taking the direction of the heritage and collections department in Sèvres- City of ceramics. Christine Germain-Donnat took over the management of the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature in 2019.

Psychoanalyst and art critic, Annabelle Gugnon has long worked for Beaux-Arts Magazine and regularly collaborates with ArtPress. She has contributed to numerous exhibition catalogs and has led series of debates at the Louis Vuitton Cultural Space. She is passionate about childhood and the way adult life is rooted in first experiences. She trained in psychoanalysis at the La Borde clinic in Blois, a psychiatric establishment founded by Dr Jean Oury who has greatly contributed to the development of institutional psychotherapy.

Damien Deroubaix. La valise d'Orphée

Editions Lord Byron

Prix régulier €24,00

Taxes incluses. Frais de port calculés à l'étape de paiement.

Christine Germain-Donnat (sous la dir. de), Damien Deroubaix. La valise d'Orphée, Paris, Éditions Lord Byron, 2021

1re édition
Edition de 300 exemplaires
Couverture rigide, 22 x 28 cm, 64 pages
Édition bilingue : français, anglais
Traduit du français par Ben Lenthall
ISBN : 978-2-491901-11-0

Damien Deroubaix. La valise d'Orphée est le catalogue édité à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme du 15 juin au 31 octobre 2021 qui inaugure la réouverture Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature à Paris (FR). Il comprend une préface de Christine Germain-Donnat, la présentation de la "Valise d'Orphie par Joanna Chevalier, un propos de Damien Deroubaix recueilli par Annabelle Gugnon, ainsi qu'un conte de la main de celle-ci.

Né en 1972 à Lille, France, Damien Deroubaix vit et travaille à Meisenthal et à Paris. Il est diplômé de l'École des Beaux-Arts de Saint-Etienne et de l'Akademie der bildenden Künste de Karlsruhe. Depuis 2003, son travail a été exposé dans les meilleures institutions européennes et a fait l'objet de nombreux solo shows particulièrement en Suisse et en Allemagne.

La pratique artistique de Damien Deroubaix est marquée par une grande diversité de formes et de techniques : peinture à l'huile, aquarelle, gravure, tapisserie, panneaux de bois gravés, mais aussi sculpture et installation. À cette variété formelle répondent des sources et des références des plus éclectiques, cohabitant souvent au sein de ses oeuvres dans un esprit qui n'est pas sans rappeler celui, iconoclaste, des montages Dada. Des motifs empruntés aux danses macabres médiévales s'y mêlent à des évocations de chapitres tragiques de l'histoire contemporaine ; des images d'actualité y côtoient la mythologie ou le folklore ; l'histoire de l'art et la scène musicale metal s'y télescopent. Ouvertement expressionnistes, ses peintures convoquent bien souvent des thèmes apocalyptiques, et c'est peut-être ce qui les rend si intemporels.

Commissaire d'exposition et conseillère artistique, Joanna Chevalier est par ailleurs directrice de la Beirut Art Fair. Née au Liban et diplômée en sciences politiques de l’American University of Paris, elle a été directrice artistique chez Ernst & Young. Elle a organisé des expositions notamment en France et au Liban, comme à l'Espace Culturel Louis Vuitton avec Hervé Mikaeloff en 2010 ou la production d'installations durant la « Nuit Blanche » à Paris en 2012.

Christine Germain-Donnat débute sa carrière en 1999 en tant que conservatrice au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Lille, puis au musée des Beaux-Arts et au musée de la céramique de Rouen. Tout en dirigeant le musée Grobet-Labadié, elle est chargée du pilotage du projet de musée des Arts décoratifs et de la mode au château Borély à Marseille de 2008 à 2013, avant de prendre la direction du département du patrimoine et des collections à Sèvres-Cité de la céramique. Christine Germain-Donnat a pris la direction du Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature en 2019.

Psychanalyste et critique d'art, Annabelle Gugnon a longtemps travaillé pour Beaux-Arts Magazine et collabore régulièrement avec ArtPress. Elle a contribué à de nombreux catalogues d'expositions et a animé des cycles de débats à l'Espace culturel Louis Vuitton. Elle se passionne pour l'enfance et la manière dont la vie d'adulte s'enracine dans les expériences premières. Elle s'est formée à la psychanalyse à la clinique de La Borde à Blois, un établissement psychiatrique fondé par le Dr Jean Oury qui a fortement contribué à développer la psychothérapie institutionnelle.