Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles

Editions Lord Byron

Regular price €24,00

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ingrid Arriaga, Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles , Paris, Editions Lord Byron, 2021

1st edition
Edition of 200 numbered copies
The first 20 copies are accompanied by an original work by the artist
Hardcover, 22 x 28 cm, 80 pages
Trilingual edition: French , Spanish, English
Translated into French by Marion Dellys and Gilbert Camps
Translated into English by Ronald Bowen
ISBN: 978-2-491901-16-5

The catalog Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles is the first monographic publication on the Mexican artist. She documents her personal exhibition at the Cultural Institute of Mexico in Paris, which took place from February 21 to April 30, 2020. The curator of the exhibition was entrusted to Ingrid Arriaga, who wrote the preface to the catalog and produced a interview with the artist.

Born in San Luis Potosi (MX) in 1977, Edgardo Navarro lives and works in Paris. A graduate of the Villa Arson in Nice and the School of Fine Arts in Leipzig where he attended Neo Rauch, the work of the Mexican artist has been the subject of personal exhibitions in galleries such as the Michel Rein gallery in Paris and the Albert Baronian gallery in Brussels. We have also seen his paintings in numerous group exhibitions such as at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Caen in “Murs”, at the Contemporary Art Fair in Montrouge, in “Phantom Scenario” at the FRAC Normandie or in “Prisonniers du soleil” at the FRAC in Ile-de-France. The Métis thought of his country of origin, a melting pot of eras and civilizations, has accustomed him to focusing on the same reality. His artistic universe is based on an interweaving of the history of painting and his personal journey.

A doctoral student in social anthropology and ethnography at EHESS, Ingrid Arriaga has been a member of the Interdisciplinary Institute of Contemporary Anthropology at CNRS since 2014. After completing her humanities in Monterrey, she studied contemporary philosophy and cultural criticism at the University of Paris VIII before becoming interested in the anthropology of art. His current research questions the emergence of contemporary indigenous art in Mexico, looking closely at the case of the Wixárika or Huichol people. Ingrid Arriaga is also in charge of exhibitions at the Cultural Institute of Mexico in Paris and it is in this context that she organized the personal exhibition of Edgardo Navarro.

Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles

Editions Lord Byron

Prix régulier €24,00

Taxes incluses. Frais de port calculés à l'étape de paiement.

Ingrid Arriaga, Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles, Paris, Éditions Lord Byron, 2021

1re édition
Edition de 200 exemplaires
Les 20 premiers exemplaires sont accompagnés d’une œuvre originale de l’artiste
Couverture rigide, 22 x 28 cm, 80 pages
Édition trilingue : français, espagnol, anglais
Traduit en français par Marion Dellys et Gilbert Camps
Traduit en anglais par Ronald Bowen
ISBN : 978-2-491901-16-5

Le catalogue Edgardo Navarro. Passerelles est la première publication monographique sur l’artiste mexicain. Elle documente son exposition personnelle à l’Institut Culturel du Mexique à Paris qui s’est tenue du 21 février au 30 avril 2020. Le commissariat de l’exposition a été confié à Ingrid Arriaga, qui a rédigé la préface du catalogue et réalisé un entretien avec l’artiste.

Né à San Luis Potosi (MX) en 1977, Edgardo Navarro vit et travaille à Paris. Diplômé de la Villa Arson à Nice et de l’École des Beaux-Arts de Leipzig où il a suivi les cours de Neo Rauch, l’œuvre de l’artiste mexicain a fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles dans des galeries telles que la galerie Michel Rein à Paris et la galerie Albert Baronian à Bruxelles. On a également pu voir ses toiles dans de nombreuses expositions collectives comme au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen dans « Murs », au Salon d’Art Contemporain de Montrouge, à « Scénario fantôme » au FRAC Normandie ou à « Prisonniers du soleil » au FRAC d’Ile-de-France. La pensée métisse de son pays d’origine, creuset d’époques et de civilisations, l’a habitué à multiplier les focales sur une même réalité. Son univers artistique repose sur un emboîtement de l’histoire de la peinture et de son parcours personnel.

Doctorante en anthropologie sociale et ethnographie à l’EHESS, Ingrid Arriaga est depuis 2014, membre de l’Institut interdisciplinaire d’anthropologie du contemporaine au CNRS. Après avoir fait ses humanités à Monterrey, elle a étudié la philosophie et la critique contemporaines de la culture à l’Université Paris VIII avant de s’intéresser à l'anthropologie de l’art. Ses recherches actuelles interrogent l’émergence d’un art contemporain indigène au Mexique, en regardant de proche le cas du peuple wixárika ou huichol. Ingrid Arriaga est par ailleurs chargée des expositions à l’Institut Culturel du Mexique à Paris et c’est dans ce cadre qu’elle a organisé l’exposition personnelle d’Edgardo Navarro.